2023

This year has been a full one! Here’s a quick recap.

Or travels included a seaside town in Lithuania, Albuquerque and Amsterdam, and I’m now writing from our Airbnb in Estonia.

An apartment move out of the Old Town in Vilnius provided a number of new things to adjust to, not to mention an ever-growing toddler.

I had to go back to last year’s blog and see what Ethan could do last December. It’s incredible to see that he was just beginning to use more words since he is now telling full stories, narrating everything that happens, and making silly jokes with language. Just today on the toilet he told me, “I talk a lot!” He turned two in August and we have definitely experienced attitude appropriate to his age! We accomplished daytime potty training and we are using a stroller to get around less and less. Ethan loves to jump and flip on everything, read books, ‘sing’ songs, and get his hands on anything that mom or dad is doing.

Ronnie continues to be the stay at home dad. He and Ethan have their daily routines. On the photography front, he has started to dabble in food photography. He got an espresso machine for Christmas, so he’s been experimenting and perfecting his lattes.

I am still happily teaching 3rd grade at the same school, but it’s not a secret to most that we are looking for the next place. The idea is to find a place where Ethan can go to school where I’m working for free. We’ll keep you all updated! Although I wish I could be at home, this year of teaching has been a great one so far. Last year was all about figuring out how to balance home and work life, but I feel a lot more confident this year.

Sadly, many of our hobbies have been paused due to the physical and mental exhaustion of life + toddler, but slowly we’re getting back into cooking new things. I’ve also been crocheting this autumn/winter and started a couple of other projects for Ethan. As you can tell, all blogging attempts are non-existant and my sustainable instagram account has pretty much gone silent as well. Not to say that I’ve stopped doing these things, it’s just too much work to document it all. One thing I’m particularly excited about is a quilt out of baby clothes that is in progress. I’m notoriously bad a finishing quilts though so we’ll see what happens.

2024 will definitely be a big one. I’m looking forward to seeing what it will bring!

2023 in photos

Wishing you and your families a safe and happy 2024!

Leave a comment